Regional Travel Restrictions

Published on Tuesday, 31 March 2020 at 9:02:52 AM

The State Government will introduce further restrictions on travel within the State from midnight Tuesday, to assist in reducing the spread of COVID-19.

From midnight Tuesday night (12am Wednesday morning), restrictions will be placed on travel within the entire State of Western Australia. 

Western Australians will not be permitted to leave their regional boundary. Police have the power to enforce these restrictions if necessary, and fines of up to $50,000 can be issued.

Exemptions will apply in circumstances including

  • employment purposes;
  • medical or veterinary reasons;
  • delivery of essential services including health or emergency services;
  • people living across regional boundaries, who may not have access to groceries or supplies immediately within their region;
  • transport of goods;
  • compassionate grounds;
  • a family member has primary care responsibilities; for school, TAFE or tertiary study reasons;
  • to escape domestic violence; or
  • due to an emergency. 

The regional boundaries mirror those of the regional development commissions.  Due to their close proximity, the Perth and Peel regions will combine into one region. 

Other regions are South-West, Great Southern, Goldfields-Esperance, Mid-West, Wheatbelt, Gascoyne, Pilbara and Kimberley. 

If you have any queries about your travel needs, you can discuss your situation with staff the Shire Office by telephone on 08 9883 6031.

Back to All News