

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE SHIRE OF CUBALLING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CAMPBELL STREET, CUBALLING ON THURSDAY 12 NOVEMBER 2009.

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING

Councillor Wittwer opened the meeting at 1.05 pm and advised that the purpose of the meeting was for the Swearing In of newly elected Councillors and for election of the Shire President and Deputy Shire President for the Shire of Cuballing for the two year period 2009 to 2011.

2. ATTENDANCE

Cr M Conley

Cr T P Haslam

Cr C J McDougall

Cr J R A Meharry

Cr R D J Newman

Cr T H Wittwer

Mr P T Naylor, Chief Executive Officer

Mr M Clarke-Smith JP

Mr S Conley

Mrs J Conley

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Cr C Hawksley, granted at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on Thursday 15 October 2009.

3. SWEARING IN OF COUNCILLORS

Councillors Conley, McDougall and Meharry took the Declaration by Elected Member before Mr Martin Clarke-Smith, Justice of the Peace.

SHIRE PRESIDENT	DATE

4. ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT AND DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

Election of Shire President

The Chief Executive Officer advised that only one written nomination has been received, for Councillor Wittwer, for the Position of Shire President.

Councillor Wittwer was therefore declared elected unopposed to the position of Shire President for the Shire of Cuballing for the two year period 2009 to 2011.

Councillor Wittwer duly took the Declaration by Elected Member for the position of Shire President before Mr Martin Clarke-Smith, Justice of the Peace.

Election of Deputy Shire President

The Shire President advised that only one written nomination has been received, for Councillor Newman, for the Position of Deputy Shire President.

Councillor Newman was therefore declared elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Shire President for the Shire of Cuballing for the two year period 2009 to 2011.

Councillor Newman duly took the Declaration by Elected Member for the position of Deputy Shire President before Mr Martin Clarke-Smith, Justice of the Peace.

The Shire President welcomed new Councillors and thanked of all Councillors for their ongoing support in electing him as Shire President.

5. MEETING CLOSURE

The Shire President declared the meeting closed at 1.15pm.

SHIRE PRESIDENT	DATE